George R.R. Martin, “A Feast for Crows”, Game of Thrones Book 4

Hmph. That was dull. And dullness is not what we expect from George R.R. Martin. But because I am a methodical creature I plowed through many many pages of A Feast for Crows. The problem is that I am far from sure what happened, and pretty sure I don’t care.

GoT fans will already know about this; apparently Martin got well into volume 4 and realized it was going to be massive; literally too big to be one book. (Think about it: at a certain length the binding just won’t hold the pages together.) His unusual solution was, rather than to split the tale in half chronologically, to divide it by characters and location.  Unfortunately, there have been developments in Westeros that involve secondary families and those incredibly unappealing Greyjoys. Also a discouraging high priest named Damphair who probably stands in for various strains of religious fundamentalists, only he’s given to drinking salt water. There’s also a lot of Cersei, and though the monster-character narrative has its own charm, Cersei is getting tiresome. On the whole, the story telling of this volume lacked energy. Find more plot details here: I’ve already lost track of them.

But I did plow ahead into Book 5 and I’m delighted to tell you that Jon Snow and Tyrion and Bran are back…. at least so far.

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in best seller, contemporary fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to George R.R. Martin, “A Feast for Crows”, Game of Thrones Book 4

  1. Alex says:

    Yes, I had problems with this as well. I’m so glad it wasn’t simply me.

  2. carolwallace says:

    From a little bit of Wikipedia cruising, Alex, it looked as if lots of us were disappointed in Vol. 4. Fortunately Vol. 5 is holding up pretty well so far.

  3. Pingback: George R.R. Martin, “A Dance with Dragons” Game of Thrones Book 5 | Book Group of One

  4. Pingback: Julia Spencer-Fleming, “Through the Evil Days” | Book Group of One

Leave a Reply

