Back by Popular Demand: To Marry an English Lord

Yes, indeed: The People have spoken and the world of commerce has heeded their word. (Actually I give my New Best Friend Julian Fellowes  a lot of credit for this.) Workman Publishing has swiftly produced a reprint of To Marry an English Lord which I co-wrote with the brilliant Gail MacColl. Official publication date is March 15 but your local bookstore may have it sooner. And of course you can order from Amazon, Barnes & Noble or IndieBound. It will also be available as an e-book. And in case you don’t have this info at your fingertips, the lady on the cover is not Elizabeth McGovern as “Downton Abbey’s” Lady Grantham, but the Duchess of Marlborough, née Consuelo Vanderbilt. An American heiress who married an English Lord and… well, you’ll have to read it to find out, won’t you?

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in anglophilia. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Back by Popular Demand: To Marry an English Lord

  1. Mary Nicoll says:

    Wonderful news! Love the cover.

  2. Oh, Carol, this is wonderful! I can’t wait to read it. And it is a fantastic cover.

  3. carolwallace says:

    Isn’t the cover gorgeous, Margaret? All that lavender chinchilla — I want to bury my face in it!

  4. Pat O'Farrell Loughlin says:

    Huzzah! Kill the fatted calf! I have been the scourge of our local
    bookshop and librarians. Between Julian Fellowes and your loyal
    followers….Magic! ~ Regards, Pat

  5. carolwallace says:

    Pat, your local bookshop may even have copies before the official publication date, so check with them. Unless deferring gratification is more fun?

  6. la petite americaine says:

    Preordered on amazon.com yesterday, can’t wait to have this on my kindle!🙂

  7. Poof Books says:

    I think Downton Abbey will be a huge influence in the next wave of books to come and I am more then happy to be at the front of the line. We love the show so I say authors be inspired.

    I look forward to reading this book and delighted to be reminded about LEAVING VAN GOGH. Another fav. genre is impressionism inspired reading.

  8. Gail says:

    read the article in “guidepost” about your husband’s listening skills…a lesson for all…so happy to find your book in re-print. The cover is beautiful. Can’t wait to read it.

  9. Chris says:

    I have owned this book since it was first published and have loved it to the point of it nearly falling apart! So glad to know I can get a fresh copy!

    • carolwallace says:

      Gotta love that kind of loyalty, Chris! The content is exactly same but the paper somewhat brighter so the images look better. And the cover is much better!

  10. doreen Banks says:

    Gail, Do you ever make public appearances to talk about the book? I work for an historic house and we were thinking about a Downton Abbey theme for a hat luncheon we’re planning. I thought that a talk about your book would be very entertaining. Although in the case of this marriage, it was the man who made the money marrying an English heiress: Jay Schaffer Phipps and Margarita Grace.

    • carolwallace says:

      Doreen, you’ve got Carol here, but never mind! I do public appearances, and actually I’ve had my eye on those Phippses and Graces for some time: there’s a real genius in the Phipps marriages, isn’t there? And golly, all of those Grace gals were gorgeous, so it was a great all-round package. Emailing you privately right now!

Leave a Reply

