“The Woman in Black;” Book into Movie Alert

The Woman in Black opens today, starring Daniel Radcliffe and — be still, my heart — Ciaran Hinds. The review in my hometown paper is not a rave, but respectable. Good news for the ever-admirable Susan Hill. Also good news for those of us who enjoy being terrified. Me, I tried to watch the trailer a while back and wigged out long before the end.

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The Woman in Black;” Book into Movie Alert

  1. Angela says:

    Have you seen the film yet, Carol? My husband and I tried when it opened, only to be driven from the theater by obscene and unruly teens……sad. We received a pass and may or may not try again, but will certainly rent it if we miss it now. Barring the unfortunate disruptions to my suspension of disbelief, the film was on its way to being a good one in the first 10 minutes I was able to see. Looking forward to reading your review of it, if you’re so inclined.

  2. carolwallace says:

    Well, you are braver than I am, Angela. I was terrified by the trailer, and in fact pretty rattled by the book, so it’s not on my list. I’m more inclined for the soothing options when it comes to film. But if you see it and it doesn’t seem that alarming, do let me know. In other respects it seems terrific. Just, you know…. a ghost story.

Leave a Reply

