Versatile!

Well! According to the lovely and generous Christina (who appears to have just returned from Paris where she shopped for books and if she hadn’t just paid me a huge compliment I would be green with envy), I am a versatile blogger. Yes, you see the award sticker before you — ta-da! This world of book bloggers is a generous and democratic one and the Versatile Blogger Award is not one of those old-style exclusive things where one statuette is handed to one skinny gal in a sequined gown. No, there are lots of versatile bloggers because most of us are interested in lots of things. So here are the rules I’ve followed, sort of:

1. Thank the person (s) who shared the aware with you by linking back to them in your post.

2. Pass this award to 15 recently-discovered blogs and let them know that you included them in your blog post.

3. List 7 random things about yourself.

4. Copy and paste the Award Image into your acceptance post.

5. Remember to tell the people you nominated that you have done so!

I am not passing the award to 15 people because, though they are certainly out there, I am, OK, just too lazy to undertake all the linking. There it is. Maybe the award should be amended to “Versatile and Lazy Blogger.” Here are 4 instead:

The Literary Stew  Three recent authors read by Mrs. B? Daphne Du Maurier, Julian Barnes (yes, his Booker-winning The Sense of an Ending) and Miguel Lopez de Leon. If that’s not versatile, I don’t know what is!

BethFishReads Because on the weekend, she also cooks, and hosts “Weekend Cooking.” This is a really professional blog, with lots of followers: you’ll see why.

A Work in Progress  Names I plucked from Danielle’s 2011 list are Agatha Christie, Tim O’Brien, Rose Macaulay, and she’s currently reading Iris Origo’s war diary!

Nathalie Foy’s blog is subtitled, “on books about books,” so you may wonder what makes it versatile. But if you scroll down, you’ll see that even within that category, there’s a huge variety.

It was this or a picture of the cat.

Similarly, I can’t believe anybody really wants to know 7 things about me, so here are 4 instead, for the sake of symmetry.

1. I sing in a church choir with my husband. Very quaint.

2. My second desk drawer contains 23 decks of cards, 18 combination locks, 22 bottles of nail polish and 3 half-eaten chocolate bars, minimum 70% cacao.

3. I am a committed fan of American pro football and spend Sunday afternoons alone, yelling at the TV. (It’s all about Wes Welker. And I’m not even from Boston.)

4. My cat won’t sit in my lap because he is too big and bits of him spill over.

So — cheers to all of you, and thanks again to Christina!

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Versatile!

  1. Mrs.B. says:

    Thanks so much for citing that I’m a versatile blogger. I didn’t realize how eclectic my reading tastes have become. I did enjoy all the books you mentioned and I also now see how many different types of books/genres I’ve read this year though to be honest I’ve only read less than 50 books since January. I think you are pretty versatile too and i didn’t realize you had such varied talents and interests!

  2. Danielle says:

    Thanks so much and the thought is very much appreciated! I do have my fingers dipped into lots of different pots, or books as the case may be! And I’m a lazy blogger, too, so you got that part of it right as well. Now if those bars of chocolate were in my desk (especially anything that is Dark chocolate…is there any other kind?), they wouldn’t be half eaten, I think they’d pretty much be gone! But as you probably know by my book choices, I’m not much about restraint! Loved hearing the four random things about you, by the way. Cheers!🙂

  3. Nathalie Foy says:

    Thanks, Carol. There is a surprising amount of variety in books about books! Lovely to see this message and to learn new things about you.

  4. Custos Libros says:

    My dear, I just saw Troy Polamalu on the bus on the way to work this morning. He told me that he is deeply, deeply hurt.

  5. carolwallace says:

    You are so clever. Best moments in yesterday’s game for me were looooong pans on the sideline, covering WW and Troy. Made me very happy. Outcome of game was comparatively irrelevant.

  6. Beth F says:

    wow! Thanks so much for this award. I really appreciate it. I’m so pleased you like Beth Fish Reads and my Weekend Cooking feature. I used to watch pro football every Sunday — Loved Kansas City (and I am not from there!). Now I mostly watch the Super Bowl.🙂

Leave a Reply

