P. G. Wodehouse, “My Man Jeeves”

I’ll admit I was a little desperate after finishing Emile Zola’s La Débâcle. I needed entertainment — no, I needed jollity! Hence, Wodehouse. Now, I’m pretty new to his work and gosh, there’s a lot of it. Worse, I was reduced to the freebies on offer via Eucalyptus so I ended up with My Man Jeeves, a volume of stories rather than a full-length novel. And half of them didn’t even feature Bertie Wooster. (Like millions of other readers, I became rather fond of Jeeves rather quickly. I especially like the way he “seeps” in and out of rooms.) They’re narrated instead by a proto-Bertie named Reggie Pepper, who is about 15% less imbecilic and thus 15% less funny. Clearly I need to be more careful next time and I’ve learned my lesson: my phone always needs to be stocked with the right kind of beautiful silliness because it may be required at any moment.

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in anglophilia, classic, funny and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to P. G. Wodehouse, “My Man Jeeves”

  1. Lisa says:

    Wodehouse is perfect for go-to jollity! Such a rich variety of characters and stories. I haven’t come across those stories yet, though – and I hadn’t heard of Reggie Pepper.

    • carolwallace says:

      Lisa, this is probably a weak link in the Wodehouse oeuvre but it was what I wanted when I wanted it! I did miss Aunt Agatha, though…

  2. Pingback: Follow my book blog, “Book Group of One” | | Carol Wallace BooksCarol Wallace Books

  3. Pingback: P.G. Wodehouse, “Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves” « Book Group of One

Leave a Reply

