R.I.P. Lucian Freud

Yesterday’s announcement of Lucian Freud’s death saddened me, since Man with a Blue Scarf portrayed him so vividly. Martin Gayford made me feel as if I had known him.

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to R.I.P. Lucian Freud

  1. Katherine Fuller Mendez says:

    One winter weekend when my husband was away I took my six month old daughter to the Met to see the Lucian Freud retrospective. In those days no strollers were allowed in the museum on Sunday. So I put here in the supplied back carrier in order to thoroughly examine the large canvases, mostly nudes. Normally my daughter was transfixed by having her head higher than mine. This time she started complaining and pulling my hair. One of the guards advised me to take her to another exhibition since she obviously found the nudes disturbing. Now eighteen, I doubt her reaction would be any different.

    I am especially fond of the portraits he did of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. I recall reading a quote from Debo saying she had become her portrait in her old age.

    • carolwallace says:

      I always knew Cordelia to be a woman of great good sense and taste. I think my favorite LF might be the Parker-Bowles portrait, but I’ve always been a sucker for men in uniform.

  2. Very sad news. I await the story of his life brought to film and for perchance Colin Firth to portray him.

    • carolwallace says:

      Oh, brilliant casting! Just a matter of time, I’m sure. Scarlett Johansen as Lady Caroline Blackwood, perhaps!

Leave a Reply

