Muriel Spark, “A Far Cry from Kensington”

“So great was the noise during the day that I used to lie awake at night listening to the silence. Eventually, I fell asleep contented, filled with soundlessness, but while I was awake I enjoyed the experience of darkness, thought, memory, sweet anticipations.”

Does that remind you of anything? Yup, me too: surely we’re not wrong in thinking of the first page of Swann’s Way, when the narrator says “For a long time I would go to bed early” and goes on (and on and on …) to discuss the process of falling asleep, invoking darkness, thoughts, memories. When I first read A Far Cry from Kensington back in 1988 Marcel Proust was the furthest thing from my mind but now that I’m sleeping with him, I see him everywhere.  I wouldn’t care to sit at a seminar table and defend a Proustian reading of A Far Cry… but there are interesting parallels aside from the opening and aside from Spark’s recurrent insistence on sleep.

Mrs. Hawkins' London

Her narrator, Mrs. Hawkins, is looking back on a certain period of her life — a year or so in 1954-5, when she lived in a rooming house in South Kensington. She works at several successive literary enterprises, two publishers and a literary magazine. In the course of the novel, she transforms herself by losing a great deal of weight. In the process, her life is altered because everyone interacts with her differently. She becomes, actually, younger, shedding her authority as she sheds pounds.

The tone is miles from Proustian. Spark’s bracing prose is a marvel of economy and grace. What’s more, the novel is funny. Mrs. Hawkins takes against a literary hanger-on named Hector Bartlett who wants her to promote his career. Early in the novel he asks her, “Won’t you call me Hector?” and she replies, “No, I call you Pisseur de copie” — a term that she claims originates with a French symbolist writer. They become enemies, of course, in the small world of post-war English publishing. But there are further complications involving a lady novelist, a Polish seamstress, and a psuedo-science called “radionics.” It’s all very entertaining and wry.

So, then… Proust? Spark stitches the narrative back and forth in time, bringing us up to the present, diving back into the past, lying in bed and thinking things over. And what seems most Proustian to me is her emphasis on the slippery quality of perception and judgment. From a mere name (say, “the princess of Guermantes”) Proust’s narrator invents a character, a past, an entire milieu. Mrs. Hawkins, sure of her own good sense, does likewise. She makes assumptions and fills in gaps, erroneously. As she says, late in the book, “What did I really know of all the people I had met in the offices where I had worked, day after day?” There are other common points: the emphasis on literature, the gay couple who are her last bosses. I could amuse myself by comparing Mrs. Hawkins’ attendance at a formal dinner party to any one of a number of Proustian social events. The contrast between Proust’s curlicues and Spark’s declaratives gives me great pleasure, even if this is just my little literary conceit.

And for those of you who are keeping track, this is another treat from the magical laundry-room book shelf. A first edition, no less!

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in anglophilia, classic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Muriel Spark, “A Far Cry from Kensington”

  1. Pingback: Follow my book blog, “Book Group of One” | | Carol Wallace BooksCarol Wallace Books

  2. Juliet Packer says:

    One of my favorite bits of A Far Cry … and I don’t have the book in front of me now … but it’s where the narrator is giving advice on writing and says something like … pretend you are writing to a good friend, don’t think of the general public — it will put you off. (Juliet L.P.)

    • carolwallace says:

      Yes, that’s one of my favorites, too — but I wonder if she’s really following her own advice. This time around Mrs. Hawkins struck me as somewhat disingenuous. Which in a way gives the novel an extra spice, when you consider how liberally the narrator dispenses her advice. BTW have you read either “The Man in the Wooden Hat” by Jane Gardam? Parts of it give a wonderful sense of the same postwar London and it’s a glorious book.

Leave a Reply

