Dorothy Whipple, “Someone at a Distance”

If I knew how, I would subtitle this post “Persephone Power.” Of course I knew Dorothy Whipple’s name because some of you read her for Persephone Reading Weekend back in February. But last week, when I was in Southern California promoting LVG, a woman at a luncheon told me how much she loved Whipple. Then when I walked into the charming Laguna Beach Books for a reading (I need you to imagine the sun setting over the Pacific here, to add local color to the scene), there was Someone at a Distance next to the cash register to welcome me. Has to be a good sign when you’re reading in a store that carries Persephones, right?

The fateful beautiful cover by Megan Wilson

But THEN at a Memorial Day luncheon I sat next to a very charming and funny woman who, as it turned out, designed the cover! (Along with many other covers I have admired, including the beautiful cover of Wait for Me!) So the stars or the fates were all pushing me toward Dorothy Whipple and Someone at a Distance and I was not disappointed.

It’s a rather stealthy novel, actually. Ellen and Avery North lead a charmed life in a big comfortable house in the country. Avery, bluff and handsome, owns half of a publishing house and commutes to London while Ellen joyfully keeps the house running with help from a pair of picturesque daily women. Hugh, eighteen, is in the Army; Anne, fifteen, is at boarding school and chiefly lives for her horse Roma. The only flaw in the picture is Avery’s selfish and bored mother, who lives nearby and meddles.

Oh, well. There’s an apple and a snake in every Eden, apparently. (We wouldn’t have novels otherwise.) Whipple spent so much time building the picture of family comfort, loyalty and happiness that I was startled by her even-handedness. With the same thoroughness she dismantled her own creation — thereby putting a comfortable distance between herself and Angela Thirkell. Whipple’s omniscient narrator spends as much time in the consciousness of the French hussy Louise as she does in the baffled masculine inner world of Avery or the sweet, warm, cluelessness of Ellen. Result: I don’t know what I’m supposed to make of the story, and I keep turning it over in my head. Should Ellen have been more wary? Were the children spoiled? Can this marriage be saved? Why do we so enjoy reading about nasties like Louise and Mrs. North — to prove that we aren’t like them?

Or is the point merely that, as an Episcopal priest told a friend of mine at pre-wedding counseling, “Men can be beasts, you know.” (True story.)

Clearly I need to read more Dorothy Whipple to find out what she really thinks.

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in anglophilia, classic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dorothy Whipple, “Someone at a Distance”

  1. bookssnob says:

    I’m so glad you have discovered Dorothy Whipple! She is a perceptive writer – she really sees people. I love how her books make you think at the end – there are no clear solutions, rights or wrongs – just as in life. Her characters aren’t types, they are real people facing real dilemmas and there are no easy answers. I always get totally drawn into her worlds and I am a little distraught that I have now read all her novels. Someone at a Distance was the first I read and it’s been 6 years or so since I read it now, so I shall have to reread it all over again soon – can’t wait!

  2. carolwallace says:

    Oh, Rachel, I can imagine how you feel, knowing you’ve read all of Whipple’s books. Whereas I am in that lovely state of discovery, knowing there’s more out there! And no Kindle instant-gratification here, either! I will stalk the next volumes, and pounce when they least expect it!

  3. Pingback: Follow my book blog, “Book Group of One” | | Carol Wallace BooksCarol Wallace Books

  4. Pingback: Dorothy Whipple, “The Priory” | Book Group of One

Leave a Reply

