Carol Wallace, “Leaving Van Gogh”

No, I’m not actually going to review my own book! But I’ve made a page for it — see the tab above, far right. It doesn’t come out until April but we are starting to build an online profile for it. I’ve also made a Facebook fan page that will feature regular updates.

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in art history, contemporary fiction, literary fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Carol Wallace, “Leaving Van Gogh”

  1. Katherine Fuller Mendez says:

    Can’t wait to read it and see the cover.

  2. julie hamlin says:

    Carol,
    Can’t wait for the book. Any chance of an early Bday copy?

  3. Cricket says:

    I am counting every minute until I can hold it in my hand. I know it will be fabulous!

  4. carolwallace says:

    Jules, I’d love to get you a book but they don’t exist yet! The galleys have all gone out to reviewers…

    So I guess it’s going to have to be deferred gratification instead! XXX

  5. Anbolyn says:

    How exciting! I’ll have to make sure my library orders it!

  6. carolwallace says:

    Oh, I’m so glad, Anbolyn — only, are you in the UK? No British sale yet, more’s the pity.

  7. christinasr says:

    This book sounds really interesting, looking forward to reading it, Carol!

  8. carolwallace says:

    Oh, thank you, Christina! Just left a comment on your blog — I like the wide variety you read!

  9. christinasr says:

    I visited the van Gogh museum in Amsterdam some years ago and it was almost a religious experience. It was just so amazing visiting this fantastic building with these fabulous artworks.
    Van Gogh is one of the best painters ever, in my opinion, and his life is so interesting so I’m very fascinated by your book.
    And thanks for the comments on my blog – I will go respond to them now.🙂

  10. Amy Worthen says:

    Hi, just came across news of your book on van Gogh and Dr. Gachet as well as your link on your Facebook page to the Des Moines Register’s article on the Des Moines Art Center’s acquisition of the etched portrait of Dr. Gachet. I look forward to reading your book, and am curious to know if, and how you handled the episode of Vincent making the etching. When do you place it in his stay in Auvers? The date etched in the plate causes all sorts of confusion.
    Amy Worthen, Curator of Prints and Drawings, Des Moines Art Center.

    • carolwallace says:

      Hi, Amy: I responded direct to your email but if it doesn’t go through, let me know again here on “Book Group of One.” I’ve got lots of ideas about the etching…

  11. Claire Cross says:

    I just read your book (pre published copy) . I have a masters in and lecture on art historical topics including Van Gogh and I wondered what your sources of info re: Dr. Gachet were.? Did you read his correspondence. You comment that Paul G. as a resource was not reliable. I realize your book was fiction but I need to know how much is true about Gachet plus I never realized Theo died of venereal disease. I enjoyed the book very much by the way. Claire C. Cross

Leave a Reply

