Why I Don’t Read the Swedes

You may have noticed that I read an awful lot of murder mysteries. Some of my readers (hi, Beachmom!) deplore this tendency but I think it’s a pretty blameless vice. About a year ago, though, I decided to give up on those dark, dark mysteries out of Sweden. I could only get through the first novel of the Stieg Larsson trilogy. It was just too grim. So this morning, reading Janet Maslin’s entertaining review of Three Seconds by Anders Roslund and Borge Hellstrom, I felt vindicated. Especially when I got to this line: “[The authors] are on a first-name basis with the Seven Dwarfs of Scandinavian Noir: Guilty, Moody, Broody, Mopey, Kinky, Dreary and Anything-but-Bashful.” Thank you, Janet.

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in mystery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why I Don’t Read the Swedes

  1. Custos Libros says:

    Too funny!

    Sending a CD of Vittorio Grigilo, whose nickname I understand to be Vittorio Gigolo. The CD for your resident tenor. Happy New Year!

  2. carolwallace says:

    Oh, lovely. Resident tenor needs encouragement to swagger more! Current project includes learning songs of Richard Rodgers. Perhaps you’d like to come listen in on rehearsals? XXXX

  3. cousinsread says:

    Haha! That is hilarious! I, too, only got through the first Larsson book. I started the second, but just couldn’t stomach the amorality.

  4. carolwallace says:

    Yup, I’m with you, Anbolyn. This is supposed to be fun, right? I don’t see much fun in Larsson even if the books are suspenseful. But we are the minority!

  5. Pingback: Frans Bengtsson, “The Long Ships” « Book Group of One

  6. Pingback: Gene Kerrigan, “The Midnight Choir” « Book Group of One

  7. Pingback: Louise Penney, “Still Life” « Book Group of One

  8. PaulaFarmer says:

    I had no intentions of reading the Larsson series, and certainly didn’t expect to like it, but boy, was I wrong. It took about 40 pages into “Dragon Tattoo” before I was hooked and quickly understood the mass appeal. Stylistically, he’s not a brilliant writer, but no denying, the books and characters are absolutely engaging, riveting. I never read 600 + pages so quickly. I think these books are perfect for a long plane ride.

  9. carolwallace says:

    Well, Paula, obviously more people feel the way you do than the way I do, but I just couldn’t get over how dark Larsson’s books are. It’s a question of not wanting to spend time in that particular world. OK, call me chicken…

Leave a Reply

