Smarter Than They Need to Be

Tomorrow, July 13, Tana French’s Faithful Place will hit my Kindle. In honor of that event, I thought I’d list a few of one of my favorite categories of authors: mystery writers who are smarter than they need to be. I find myself saying this frequently: it’s the writer with extra power under the hood who produces the really diverting diversions. Alpha order here, because I don’t actually know the IQ level of each of these people:

Benjamin Black, Booker Prize winner as  John Banville

Sarah Caudwell, eminent English barrister

Tana French, multinational (Irish, Italian, American) actress

Dorothy Sayers, author of a highly respected translation of Dante

Rebecca Stott, PhD. from the University of York, wrote a bio of Darwin before Ghostwalk

Fred Vargas, a medievalist and archaeologist, formerly of the French Centre nationale de la recherche scientifique

part of an IQ test, I believe

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in anglophilia, best seller, French, mystery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Smarter Than They Need to Be

  1. Custos Libros says:

    D?

    No matter if I’m right because I’m LinkedIn with Will!

  2. carolwallace says:

    I looked at that puzzle and was really glad my IQ was tested when I was 7. A peak, I’m sure.

  3. Abby Gruen says:

    And John Mortimer and John Grisham were lawyers, Arthur Conan Doyle was a doctor….

  4. carolwallace says:

    Michael Crichton was a doctor, too, now that I think of it…

Leave a Reply

