Left Unfinished

How do you decide when you’re not going to finish a book? Sometimes you get to a certain point and think, “Ugh!” (Bridges of Madison County, for instance.) More often for me, it just gets a little slow-going and the book drifts to the bottom of the pile by my bed, with the bookmark near the back cover. (That would be The Volcano Lover.)  Eventually I move it to the shelf or to the recycling pile. I guess that’s the definitive moment.

So: Mark Kurlansky’s Salt is going on the shelf. It was just a little dry and predictable. Trade history may not be my favorite thing, though I’m willing to acknowledge how fascinating it is – in theory. 

Think I’m going to give up on the Penny Vincenzi books, too, which is a pity since I bought a bunch of them. I suppose I could keep them for an air trip – going to California on Feb 11 – but what if they’re as mediocre as I suspect? Then I’d be stuck in a tube hurtling west at 25,000 feet with nothing to read!  Not to be contemplated. 

And here’s another question. Rick read the entirety of Remembrance of Things Past except for the last 20 pages. Can he be said to have “finished” it? Is “finishing” a question of proportional consumption? Or do you have to

Read

Every

Last

Word? 

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in nonfiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

