Just a Thought…

In today’s New York Times Book Review, Ian McEwan says, “Perhaps the greatest reading pleasure has an element of self-annihilation. To be so engrossed that you barely know you exist.”

I totally agree. You?

 

About carolwallace

I spend most of my time writing and reading. Most recent publications: the reissue of "To Marry an English Lord,"one of the inspirations for "Downton Abbey," and the historical novel "Leaving Van Gogh." I am too cranky to belong to a book group but I love the book-blogging community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just a Thought…

  1. Absolutely. The same can be said of writing, which makes me wonder whether that might not play into ‘resistance’ to writing. That dread of losing oneself holding one back? Do people resist reading in the same way as they sometimes resist writing? Musings for a rainy Sunday afternoon…. thank you, Carol.

  2. carolwallace says:

    Wow. I never thought of that side of it, Lee, but have to admit that’s also one reason I write. (Also one reason why I so enjoy sleeping….) In fact I’ve long believed that humankind longs to escape both self-awareness and gravity. Which explains bungee-jumping.

  3. Judy Fireman says:

    I too love to lose myself in a good book, or in writing what I hope is a good paragraph. That said, self-annihilation is such a brutal term, so typically McEwan in his cruel or, more politely, highly dramatic mode.

  4. carolwallace says:

    You’re absolutely right, Judy; another idea is that he’s being deliberately provocative in this instance, to claim the casual reader’s attention.

Leave a Reply

